Shopping Trip: 8/30/09

Today I hit up CVS and Shaw’s. Unfortunately for me these stores are a 30 minute drive (on the interstate) from my house and I cannot easily run to these stores daily so I have to plan out what I need for the week and make one trip. I wish these stores were closer, but hey it’s Maine, so I don’t expect much.

CVS:

I havn’t been shopping CVS much lately because I had built up my ecbs to a ridiculous amount and was having a very tough time rolling them each week. So at the beginning of August I seriously burned them down to almost nothing. I had a $5 ecb on each card that were going to expire this week, lucky for me it was a good week with products I really wanted to try. The ‘FREE CVS item’ coupons also helped too.

Here is what I got:

100_0766

1 Glade Fragrance Collection Diffuser: $6.99 – $2.00 coupon = $4.99

2 Bayer Contour Meters: $14.99 ea. – (2) $14.99 coupon= FREE

2 CVS Mild Antibacterial Hand Soaps: $1.69 ea. – (2) FREE CVS emailed coupons= FREE

1 Burt’s Bees Lip Balm: $2.99 – $2.99 coupon (from a campaign a while back) = FREE (but silly cashier forgot to ring this one through without me noticing!)

1 CVS Cotton Swabs 750 ct: $2.50

1 Clairol Natural Instincts Loving Care: $4.99- $4.00 coupon = $0.99

1 Bounce 2 month Dryer Bar: $3.99- $2.50 coupon (Vocalpoint) = $1.49

Total ecbs spent (between 2 cards): $10.00

I paid $0.58 (just tax!) and $3.54 (which was the price of the Burt’s Bees and tax on the other items. I’m a little mad because the lip balm was supposed to be free, but honestly I would have purchased it anyways and paid full price because I like it, still, I had planned my trips to only be tax today. Errrrr.) Total oop: $4.12

I saved $188.03 (those meters are pricey!!!)

I received $19.99 in ecbs for a total profit of $15.87!

^That right there is why I love CVS (most of the time) and why I take the time to shop there. I made a $10 profit just on the meters alone. That was a FREE $10! I can turn around and use that to buy a pack of diapers, making them FREE!

 

Shaw’s

There wasn’t a whole lot of things that sparked my interest at Shaw’s this week. I wouldn’t have made a special trip but since I was in the area already I figured I would pick up a few things.

Here is what I got:

100_0768

2 Ronzoni Smart Taste Pastas: $1.00 ea. – $1.00/2 (printable) coupon = $0.50 ea.

2 Ronzoni Healthy Harvest Pastas: $1.00 ea. – $1.00/2 (printable) coupon = $0.50 ea.

1 Dozen Eggs: $0.99

3 Betty Crocker Brownie Mixes: $1.00 ea.

1 Betty Crocker Cake Mix: $1.00 ea.

2 Yo Baby 3-in-1 meals (1 is missing from picture): $1.33 ea.

There was a CAT deal running for spend $20 and get $5 OYNO and the Betty Crocker items were included. I chose not to take part in this deal because we didn’t need/ eat a lot of the items that were included. We have a baby and obviously he doesn’t eat things like Chex Mix. I still thought the brownies and cake mix for $1.00 ea. was a pretty good price.  Also you may notice that I typically just buy the grocery items that we need for the week. But, when a good deal comes along I do like to stockpile. The brownie mixes are a stockpile item (I was down to 1 box, yikes!) and I would subtract the money I spent on them out of my monthly stockpile allowance instead of my monthly grocery budget.

Total: $9.66

Saved: $8.62

 

Leave a Reply

